10 Things I Never Ever Do Online (But Maybe Should)

Here it is. The list of things I never do, probably because I am about as hip, wild and fun as Mr. Kant:

1. Click on videos

2. Post or consume “man titty”

3. Twit

4. Chat

5. Memes

6. Engage in Book Challenges

7. Read author blogs

8. Click on ads or shop at stores sponsored by blogs I read

9. Let my inner bitch out

10. Squee

Published in: on October 23, 2008 at 7:14 pm  Comments (17)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://racyromancereviews.wordpress.com/2008/10/23/10-things-i-never-do/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL – Interesting list. I’ve been guilty of a few of them.
    1) Depends what the video is – I tend to like music videos quite a bit
    2) not often, but yeah – on occasion
    3) nope – haven’t done that one and don’t plan too. It strikes me as too addictive
    4) Well – since my latest post is a ‘chat’ can’t deny that one 🙂 But I don’t really do it that often. But if I’m home by myself on a Friday night, it’s fun to grab a beer and just ‘talk’ the night away.
    5) I’m not a fan of them – but have participated on occasion
    6) Just one – reading a book at least a book a month from the TBR pile. So far I’ve enjoyed them all. But since I have a hard enough time with just that one, I don’t want to get involved with any others *g*
    7) Maybe 3 or 4 and not very often at that. I’m more about the reader blogs
    8) Nope – don’t do that.
    9) ROTFL – I’ve even named mine – Krisite. I don’t let her out often, but she had made a few appearances
    10) Yep – I’m very guilty of that one. And let me just say, I’m not sure how attractive it is in a person of my age. But alas, I can not help it when I get excited about something 😉

  2. Oooh… don’t say “guilty”! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the items on the list, except for maybe (maybe) numbers 2 and 9, but probably not even those.

    Actually, I think there may well be something wrong with ME for NOT doing some of them, especially numbers 7 and 8, and maybe 9 and 10.

    (See how I put 9 on the list of things you should feel guilty for doing and also for not doing? How’s that for muddled?)

  3. Interesting list. I find it indicative of who we are and how we like to spend our time. Part of me would love to be more of a Web 2.0 type of person (and then I would chat, twit, etc., etc.), but if I did THAT, something would have to give in my life. I kinda’ like the way I’m spending my time right now. And I’m sure some people would say that they’d love it if my outer bitch were an inner bitch, LOL.

  4. How do you know that Mr Spofford wasn’t fun? You aren’t just judging him by his appearance and profession are you?

    Saying something like that is about as far as I tend to go with number 9.

  5. 1. Click on videos: Only one was worth it, and that was the one of that dude singing “Nessun Dorma” on “Britain’s Got Talent.”

    2. Post or consume “man titty”: Ya seen one six-pack, ya seen ’em all. On the other hand, I saw a rack on a paranormal cover I’d pay a surgeon to give me.

    3. Twit: I keep being told this is the wave of the marketing future.

    4. Chat: Oh, I’m a chatter from way back on IRC. I miss that.

    5. Memes: I don’t even know what this word means.

    6. Engage in Book Challenges: Yeah, I got too much to do.

    7. Read author blogs: Well, shucks.

    8. Click on ads or shop at stores sponsored by blogs I read: I’ve clicked on some SBTB ads and added a couple of things to my TBR because of it.

    9. Let my inner bitch out: Crap, I don’t dare now that I’m selling something.

    10. Squee: I think I may have done this, but I can’t remember for sure.

  6. Phyl,

    Oh… so that’s what Web 2.0 is! I guess I am a 1.0 kind of gal.

    Laura,

    I thought it would be one of the librarians who called me out on Spofford. And I actually look like Spofford, especially the hair. Nevertheless, I changed it to a profession and a personage I know something about.

    Mojo,

    I agree on 1 — I’ve seen that (on TV) and it brought tears to my eyes. As to 7, I guess I need to make an exception!

  7. Ok, I’ll admit it, here in public. I’ve seen it around for a while now… but will someone please explain to me what a meme is? I’d really appreciate it.

  8. I love your list. Squeeeeee!!

  9. Very funny, Carolyn Jean.

    Marisa,

    It’s just 10 of us here on this blog. You’re safe!

    What is a meme? Here’s a long definition:

    http://thedailymeme.com/what-is-a-meme/

    And a short one:

    “In science, a Meme (pronounced to rhyme with “theme”) is a self-propagating unit of thought that is spread from one host to another. Richard Dawkins invented the term as a kind of idea-gene. Like genes, as Memes spread they mutate or die. Only the fittest Memes survive.

    For bloggers Memes have become synonymous with internet quizzes, surveys, and novelties that people link to and pass around on their blogs, forums and via email, things like the “which superhero are you most like” test… “

  10. I’m not a huge fan of the meme, though I’ll participate generally as a mutual-appreciation gesture to the person who thought enough of me to send it along. Boy, that sounds high school.

    I am addicted to videos, don’t chat,and once looked at Twitter and ran away. I don’t click on adds since I shouldn’t be spending money, am generally not interested in author blogs since I don’t want to spoil my enjoyment of their books if I don’t like them (positive, aren’t I?), but will participate in the occasional challenge if it’s worthwhile or if I like it – the RIP III comes to mind here.

    I do think my inner bitch is already out, but if I squee I try to at least do it in a semi-professional vocabulary.

    This was fun to think about.

  11. Oh interesting! I thought a Meme was so-called because it was generally all about the person answering the questions. You know “Me! Me!” (Srsly I did think that)

    I’ve only ever done one Meme and that’s cos it was about characters from books – not me.

    I’m not sure what you mean by ‘post or consume man titty’? Do you just mean the pictures? Or the real thing? And if it’s the real thing – ‘consume’?

    I prolly don’t do many of these either – just 1, 9 and 10. One lapse of 5. 4? Commenting doesn’t count does it?

  12. Kate,

    That’s the main reason I don’t read author blogs: I don’t want to find out they have opposing political views or something that would likely turn me off, or make me start looking for hidden agendas in the book.

    Tumperkin,

    Of course, in RL I consume mantitty all the time, whenever I can — and that includes chewing, sucking, licking and biting, often of unsuspecting men and their equally unsuspecting titties (I only require consensual sex in literature, never in real life). But on the net? Can’t stand it. 😉

    Seriously, let’s just say I don’t hang out on any Desert Islands, although I completely get, support and am happy for all the fun others seem to have on them.

  13. Thanks for making me feel safe for asking the question and the great explanation – I had no idea. And now that I know what it is, I have to say that I’ve participated in memes with out even knowing it. Goes to show you, you should always read the fine print.

  14. I think the description of a meme as Me!Me! is very apt, particularly in some of them. I do them, but usually because it is about being part of the blogging community more than any great desire to do it.

    I am not even looking at Twitter because I already spend huge amounts of time parked in this chair in front of the computer blogging and on forums. I really don’t want to add another way to waste time!

    I am guilty of being a Reading Challenge addict. Just can’t seem to stop myself.

    I don’t click on ads etc, but I have been known to Squee when I am very excited about something!

    I do read author blogs, but usually just skim over posts unless they are telling me something about their next book, etc etc.

  15. I meant to say as well about Twitter….sorry to anyone who does this, but I really dislike it when the only blog content that people put up is their twitters for the day.

    I have in fact taken some people out of my feed reader who do this because it annoys me so much.

  16. Marg,

    I like Tumpkerkin’s idea of “Me Me” too. That makes a lot of sense since the term came from Dawkins’ The Selfish Gene, and that’s the selfish gene’s (ultimate if not immediate) imperative.

    I have never noticed Twitter taking the place of content on a blog. I’d ask you for an example so I could see it, but I know you wouldn’t want to call anybody out.

    Like you, I don’t mind bloggers having Twitter on their blog. I just ignore it and read the content I like.

    I don’t do Twitter because I don’t think it’s interesting to say what I am doing right now, and I am not interested in what other people are doing right now. I don’t even call my spouse to tell him what I am doing right now. Why would a stranger care?

    Yet, my students are all about Facebook, and on Facebook you have a running ticker with these kinds of updates on the mundane.

  17. I don’t even call my spouse to tell him what I am doing right now. Why would a stranger care?

    Yeah. That. Color me puzzled.


Leave a Reply

