Some romance review sites I can’t figure out

I have a list of bookmarks for romance review sites in which I trust, and I’ve put most of those on my sidebar. You’ll get very different reviews from Smart Bitches than from All About Romance –even when they are giving the same book the same grade. That’s part of the fun. But one thing they all do have in common is the ability to dislike a book, to judge it “not good”, and to explain why. No one can do that with more panache than Mrs. Giggles, whose review of Megan’s Mark set the bar for dead on parody of romance novels, but all of the sites on the side bar can do it, and do it well.

But I’ve noticed that there are some review sites which have never met a book they didn’t love. Everyone knows this about Harriet Klausner at Genre Go Round. (My personal journey where HK is concerned went from surprise, to wonder, to concern, to outrage, to amusement. Reading Meljean Brook try to explain, in so many words, that no one who had bothered to read even the freaking book jacket could get Demon Night so wrong wins the award for best exercise in author tact.) But have you ever read a bad review at SensualRomance Reviews? Or Romance Reviews Today? Or Romance Junkies? Or lower than a (very rarely bestowed) C+ at Simply Romance Reviews? Or lower than a 4 at Just Erotic Romance Reviews? Are Phallus From Dallas and I’m A Viking and I Protest really 5 star reads? Really?

Maybe I’ve been a professor too long, but in an intro class I expect some students to do poorly. I don’t hope for it, and I do my best to prevent it, but there it is. And the romance genre is like an intro class in the sense that you have your first time in college folks, and your graduating seniors, your star students, and your strugglers. Everyone who tries it is not going to do it well.

Another site that I can’t always figure out (although it is much better than those mentioned above, and thus is on the sidebar) is The Romance Reader. True, reviewers are not afraid to give a book low scores on TRR, but so many times I have read a scathing review on that website, only to see that the book has gotten 4 out of 5 “hearts”, which I find really puzzling. What puts me off of TRR is actually navigating the website. I’m clearly too stupid to do it properly, because I can never seem to find what I want.

I’m sure there are many great review sites and blogs that I haven’t found yet. Hopefully I will eventually.

Published in: on August 6, 2008 at 2:51 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://racyromancereviews.wordpress.com/2008/08/06/some-romance-review-sites-i-cant-figure-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

